Hi there,

im currently running into constant crashes of the live preview and renderer

cycles4d crashes
"Cuda error: Out of memory in CuMemAlloc(&device_pointer, size), line 567"

currently on
1 x Geforce 1080Ti 11GB
1 x Geforce 1080 8GB

running latest drivers and all updates
Win 10/c4d 19/ Nvidia 390.65 (tested downgrade 388.0)
not running into any problems rendering the same scene in Octane/Redshift on the GPU.

Ariusfx

Re: CUDA . out of Memory

Post by Ariusfx » Wed Jan 24, 2018 6:48 pm

Could you possibly post the scene? Would be easier to find the problem.
~Creative Intent

Pixonoid

Post by Pixonoid » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:06 am

Found the issue,

the Gigabyte Aorus Manager (to control the fans on the gpu and rates) got fucked over time somehow,
after a clean removal cycles4d is accepting the scenes without any further issues

rojharris

Post by rojharris » Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:20 am

Hi There,

Could you let me know the steps you took to sort this (I'm new to PC's so assume I know nothing).

I'm having constant CUDA memory errors all the time since the last Cycles update and I too have a Gigabyte Aorus (X399 Gaming 7)

Many thanks

ButterGroove

Post by ButterGroove » Tue Feb 13, 2018 4:32 am

I'm getting out of memory issues while using Displacement Maps. Very simple scene, DMaps are set to 2K resolution only.

I've got 2 GTX 1080s 8GB internally and an external GTX 980Ti 6GB. So there shouldn't be any memory issues. I do have the ASUS GPU Tweaker app running which lets you control all aspects of the cards (fans, clocking speed, etc.)

If I switch to CPU rendering it doesn't throw any errors, just really slow. And navigating within the main C4D window is crazy slow while I have the RTP window running. With DMaps, it really slows things down quite a bit. I don't understand why this should be an issue since I have 3 cards and the DMap resolution is only 2K. I've also got an HDRI background which is only set to 1K.