Animated Image Texture and Time Offset?

General discussion about Cycles 4D.
Post Reply
fredsprinkle
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Animated Image Texture and Time Offset?

Post by fredsprinkle » Thu Jan 25, 2018 11:28 pm

Basically I am looking for some workflow to use video, have the gamma be correct, and be able to offset the start frame.

----Issues-----


1. The gamma goes wierd when I use a .MOV as an image texture

2. I'm looking for a way to offset the start time/frame of the video, and have other options like looping it etc. Any ideas?
Last edited by fredsprinkle on Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:54 am, edited 2 times in total.

fredsprinkle
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Animated Image Texture and Time Offset?

Post by fredsprinkle » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:32 am

--- Redundant post ---
Last edited by fredsprinkle on Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:46 am, edited 3 times in total.

fredsprinkle
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Animated Image Texture and Time Offset?

Post by fredsprinkle » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:39 am

Left image is a video (422 HQ MOV) with "load from disk" unchecked. (Gamma is messed up)

Right image is a still frame of the same video (This one is way closer to the look of the actual clip)

It's more than brightness, it is like a gamma shift.
Screen Shot 2018-01-25 at 4.36.52 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-01-25 at 4.36.52 PM.png (858.97 KiB) Viewed 331 times
Last edited by fredsprinkle on Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

fredsprinkle
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Animated Image Texture and Time Offset?

Post by fredsprinkle » Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:53 am

I think I solved the gamma issue:

You have to toggle "Non-Color Data" in the image texture node. This doesn't really make sense to me, but it seemed to work.

Now if only I can figure out on to do a time/frame offset

User avatar
Mario Tran Phuc
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 4:03 pm

Re: Animated Image Texture and Time Offset?

Post by Mario Tran Phuc » Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:00 pm

Hi,

thanks for reaching out. Cycles 4D uses the C4D BitMap shader attributes just like the C4D standard material.

Just click on the Texture path and goto the "Animation" tab. There you can set a different Start frame to offset the Clip:
Screenshot_2.jpg
Screenshot_2.jpg (161.64 KiB) Viewed 306 times
Cheers,

Mario

fredsprinkle
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Animated Image Texture and Time Offset?

Post by fredsprinkle » Fri Jan 26, 2018 5:40 pm

Great answer, thank you!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest