Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

General discussion about Cycles 4D.
Post Reply
fredsprinkle
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by fredsprinkle » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:16 pm

I've got a project that has about 10 animated textures (fake TV screens) and about 10 panel lights, 1 cloner, and 5 mosplines. I think I have reduced all my texture sizes down to 2.5K or less.

The project just seems kind of unstable. It crashes when rendering fairly often. I can only get about 50 frames (out of 1500) rendered before crashing (these are only 720p test renders).

It seems more stable without the mosplines and cloners. I wonder if there is a similar issue as the refreshing viewport, but during renders.

Mac Sierra 3.5GZ 6Core, 64GB RAM, NVIDIA 1080 (with eGPU)

I'll just keep trying to optimize things, maybe try to cut out the MoSplines

User avatar
Mohamed Sakr
Posts: 590
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by Mohamed Sakr » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:54 am

fredsprinkle wrote:
Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:16 pm
I've got a project that has about 10 animated textures (fake TV screens) and about 10 panel lights, 1 cloner, and 5 mosplines. I think I have reduced all my texture sizes down to 2.5K or less.

The project just seems kind of unstable. It crashes when rendering fairly often. I can only get about 50 frames (out of 1500) rendered before crashing (these are only 720p test renders).

It seems more stable without the mosplines and cloners. I wonder if there is a similar issue as the refreshing viewport, but during renders.

Mac Sierra 3.5GZ 6Core, 64GB RAM, NVIDIA 1080 (with eGPU)

I'll just keep trying to optimize things, maybe try to cut out the MoSplines
does it crash without textures? does it crash on CPU? if you can make a certain crash (for example at frame 51), then please post a bug with a minimum file that can reproduce the crash, so we can fix.

fredsprinkle
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by fredsprinkle » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:27 am

I turned off the cloner and MoSpline, but it still crashed after 57 frames.

I'll experiment with textures next.

fredsprinkle
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by fredsprinkle » Tue Jan 30, 2018 4:56 pm

I'm pretty sure it is the video textures, but not positive. Any codec issues with ProRes 422?

I did a control render with everything turned on. I got 60 frames.

C4D Crash Details Attached: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1v0Dwgs ... sp=sharing

I'm doing a render with the video textures turned off next.

fredsprinkle
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by fredsprinkle » Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:06 pm

I quite sure it is the video textures.

When I turn them off, it works fine.

I even tried reducing the video textures down to 720p, but it still crashes.

It crashes on GPU and CPU.

I want to try on a Windows machine now.

User avatar
Mohamed Sakr
Posts: 590
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by Mohamed Sakr » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:45 am

fredsprinkle wrote:
Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:06 pm
I quite sure it is the video textures.

When I turn them off, it works fine.

I even tried reducing the video textures down to 720p, but it still crashes.

It crashes on GPU and CPU.

I want to try on a Windows machine now.
post a simple scene with a video texture that crashes, so we can fix.

fredsprinkle
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by fredsprinkle » Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:35 pm

When I rendered the same project on a Windows machine with a NVIDIA 980 it worked fine, performed beautifully, rendered all my frames, 10 screens of animated textures.

So, there's something weird about how Cycles/C4D works with 2013 MacPro "Trashcans" (Besides them being horribly designed)

User avatar
Mohamed Sakr
Posts: 590
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by Mohamed Sakr » Wed Jan 31, 2018 6:45 pm

fredsprinkle wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:35 pm
When I rendered the same project on a Windows machine with a NVIDIA 980 it worked fine, performed beautifully, rendered all my frames, 10 screens of animated textures.

So, there's something weird about how Cycles/C4D works with 2013 MacPro "Trashcans" (Besides them being horribly designed)
may be c4d (if it crashes on CPU).
try to render it using CPU only (not GPU), tell me if it will crash on the Mac.

fredsprinkle
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by fredsprinkle » Thu Feb 01, 2018 8:26 pm

Yes it does crash on cpu on the Mac 2013 Trashcan.

fredsprinkle
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:17 pm

Re: Cycles Unstable With Fairly Large Projects?

Post by fredsprinkle » Wed Feb 07, 2018 9:30 pm

I have now tested video textures on two different Macs and one PC. I have tested on GPU and CPU.

The Windows machine can handle video textures perfectly on GPU.

Both Mac machines break the video textures (render as black) on both CPU and GPU.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests