Number of cards / out of cores

General discussion about Cycles 4D.
Post Reply
joethedino
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:45 pm

Number of cards / out of cores

Post by joethedino » Mon Apr 30, 2018 2:31 pm

Hi,

I mainly use cycles at work for motion design (i have a xeon E5 and 64 Go of ram and a gtx 980) and i'm gonna have a new build with 3 or 4 gpus, possibly 1080ti.

Will the number of gpus get rid of "out of cores" errors ? I'm having theses a lot on heavy scenes.

Is there a way to calculate the maximum amount of geometry or textures for a graphic card ?

Thanks !

User avatar
Mohamed Sakr
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 8:45 am

Re: Number of cards / out of cores

Post by Mohamed Sakr » Mon Apr 30, 2018 3:19 pm

joethedino wrote:
Mon Apr 30, 2018 2:31 pm
Hi,

I mainly use cycles at work for motion design (i have a xeon E5 and 64 Go of ram and a gtx 980) and i'm gonna have a new build with 3 or 4 gpus, possibly 1080ti.

Will the number of gpus get rid of "out of cores" errors ? I'm having theses a lot on heavy scenes.

Is there a way to calculate the maximum amount of geometry or textures for a graphic card ?

Thanks !
you can use any number of cards, out of core memory isn't available in the current patch (may be in the next Cycles 4D patch).

joethedino
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:45 pm

Re: Number of cards / out of cores

Post by joethedino » Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:28 pm

One man can dream ! :D
Thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests