Page 1 of 1

cycles occupies my whole computer

Posted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:05 pm
by nickyc
Hey there,

Since I have paid another fee for the maintenance I would start with a request I had earlier already.
When rendering in cycles my whole computer is unable to do anything else. It is slow as fck. I understand fcuz but how to avoid it and where do I find these magic buttons...

ps I want that tri-planar nodddddeeeee!!!

Re: cycles occupies my whole computer

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:23 am
by Mario Tran Phuc

when rendering in CPU mode you can reduce the amount of used threads in the rendersettings to leave some resources to the system. When using GPU or OpenCL you can unfold the device option to uncheck a card in case you need the speed for other apps while rendering.

A triplanar node doesn't exist in the Cycles core but you can use our custom triplana material from the repository: ...



Re: cycles occupies my whole computer

Posted: Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:20 am
by nickyc
I have tried that option and experimented with the amount of threads.
I have a 16core machine, so 32 threads and I have put it even to 10 threads but it keeps bugging the computer a lot when rendering. I can move the mouse for a bit thats it what is possible.
I don't think there is something that can be done but I thought I'd share my experience with the adjust thread options.