Better Sample Quality - Sobol vs Correlated Multi Jitter

User avatar
Mario Tran Phuc
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 4:03 pm

Better Sample Quality - Sobol vs Correlated Multi Jitter

Post by Mario Tran Phuc » Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:36 pm

Hi together,

due to the latest findings in technical support i can highly recommend using Pixar´s Correlated Multi Jitter instead of the faster Sobol sampling mode to avoid artifacts and bad pattering.

Here a comparison rendered with 32 samples:
Sobol-vs-CMJ.jpg
Sobol-vs-CMJ.jpg (185.21 KiB) Viewed 1259 times
To activate Correlated Multi Jitter:

- switch the rendering mode to Experimental
- change the Sampler Pattern from Sobol to Correlated Multi Jitter
Rendersettings.jpg
Rendersettings.jpg (173.21 KiB) Viewed 1259 times

Cheers,

Mario

andreackermann
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:30 pm

Re: Better Sample Quality - Sobol vs Correlated Multi Jitter

Post by andreackermann » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:25 pm

Thanks for the tip Mario :D

heyBear
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:54 pm

Re: Better Sample Quality - Sobol vs Correlated Multi Jitter

Post by heyBear » Thu Feb 23, 2017 8:47 pm

Great tip. Thanks!

Juha Takabe
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:04 pm

Re: Better Sample Quality - Sobol vs Correlated Multi Jitter

Post by Juha Takabe » Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:40 pm

Is it possible to set as default?

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 544
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:03 pm

Re: Better Sample Quality - Sobol vs Correlated Multi Jitter

Post by Martin » Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:43 pm

Juha Takabe wrote:
Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:40 pm
Is it possible to set as default?
Open new file, configure settings as you wish, safe file as new.c4d. Put the file to Cinema 4D main folder.

Juha Takabe
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:04 pm

Re: Better Sample Quality - Sobol vs Correlated Multi Jitter

Post by Juha Takabe » Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:39 pm

Martin Wall wrote:
Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:43 pm
Juha Takabe wrote:
Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:40 pm
Is it possible to set as default?
Open new file, configure settings as you wish, safe file as new.c4d. Put the file to Cinema 4D main folder.
Hi,

With that way it will be always including Cycles to my scene file which could cause unwanted plugin error when using standard or physical or other renderers on render farms.

User avatar
Martin
Posts: 544
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:03 pm

Re: Better Sample Quality - Sobol vs Correlated Multi Jitter

Post by Martin » Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:48 pm

Juha Takabe wrote:
Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:39 pm
Hi,

With that way it will be always including Cycles to my scene file which could cause unwanted plugin error when using standard or physical or other renderers on render farms.
Save render settings.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest